Nehru Trophy Boat Race 2018 | Heave Ho...| Onmanorama

  • Alappuzha, the Venice of the East, is all set for one of its biggest events - the annual Nehru Trophy Boat Race. Photo: Jibin Chembola

  • It occurs on the second Saturday of August every year. It is perhaps one of the most popular boat races in India. Photo: Jibin Chembola

  • From a sporty water regatta to a very competitive battle over the waves, vallamkali has evolved over the years. Photo: Jibin Chembola

  • It is the sheer rush of adrenaline that will make you camp out between the starting and the finishing points of the race at the Punnamada Lake. Photo: Jithin

  • The vanchipattu or the oarsmen's song is worth listening. Photo: Jithin

Nehru Trophy Boat Race has evolved. Here's how

Decoding NTBR and why you should add it to your itinerary

The Chundan Vallams are an icon of Kerala culture. The boats, 100 to 138 feet long, are built according to the specifications of the Sthapathya Veda.

  • 2000

    Karichal (Alappuzha Boat Club)

  • 2001

    Karichal (Friends Boat Club)

  • 2002

    Velamkulangara (Kumarakom Boat Club)

  • 2003

    Karichal (Navajeevan Boat Club)

  • 2004

    Cheruthana (Kumarakom Town Boat Club)

  • 2005

    Payippadu (Kumarakom Town Boat Club)

  • 2006

    Payippadu (Kumarakom Town Boat Club)

  • 2007

    Payippadu (Kumarakom Town Boat Club)

  • 2008

    Karichal (Jesus Boat Club)

  • 2009

    Champakulam (Jesus Boat Club)

  • 2010

    Jawahar Thayankari (Kumarakom Town Boat Club)

  • 2011

    No Winner (Legal disputes)

  • 2012

    Sree Ganesh (Freedom Boat Club, Kainakari)

  • 2013

    Sree Ganesh (Freedom Boat Club, Kainakari)

  • 2014

    Chambakulam (United Boat Club, Kainakari)

  • 2015

    Jawahar Thayankari (Kottayam Vembanad Boat Club)

  • 2016

    Karichal (Vembanad Boat Club)

  • 2017

    Gabriel Chundan (Thurithipuram Boat Club)

© Copyright 2018 Manoramaonline. All rights reserved.